Broken By Marvel Jay

By

Originally posted in July 2021.

I’m not broken
I refute it
See, my mother didn’t scold me
My father bought bought me clothes,
How can I be swallowed by
The world
When I don’t remember my first
Glimpse of it?
I don’t accept.

I’m smiling now,
Crying alone you see
And catching my own tears
Has given me a new dream.
I’ll stand up
Till I’m convinced I’m standing.

How can I be mellow?
So mother never held my hand
But my first cut,
She scolded the girl that pushed me down
And father said nothing
Yet his eyes closed when I flinched.
It’s love
My parents warmth

No.
I won’t agree,
I can’t sleep yes
But it’s my negligence
I ask God many questions
He doesn’t answer
But I’ve seen so many pictures
He’s there when the wind is blowing
This world too is there
It gives me the sun, and I can
Love the light it let’s me have

I’m smiling now
Talking to myself has let me know
Who I’ll always need
If I’m scolded by days that go
And leave just fling of their presence
I know how to tell myself stories
This is my own comfort

I’m not broken
I just have a paper cut
From many illusions
I lived alone and couldn’t share
They touched me
Left with many memories
I could never tell a soul
Without being asked when.